Group Trustee Board

Helen Spicer-Cain


Rachel Martin


Julie Gandolfi


Trustee Board

The Group Trustee Board supports the Group Lead Volunteer and ensures the effective administration of the Scout Group.

The Group Trustee Board aims to make sure that the Scout Group has the facilities and resources needed to deliver good Scouting in the Group. This includes:

  • the maintenance of the Group’s property and equipment
  • the raising of funds and the administration of the Group’s finance
  • the insurance of persons, property and equipment
  • Group public occasions
  • assisting with the recruitment of Leaders and other adult support

Members of the Group Trustee Board

The Group Executive consists of some people who are members because of their role in Scouting (the ex-officio members), these are:

  • Group Lead Volunteer
  • Group Chairman
  • Group Treasurer
  • Deputy Group Lead Volunteer (if any)
  • All Section Team Lead Volunteers (i.e. individuals holding a Beaver Team Leader, Cub Team Leader or Scout Team Leader role) subject to that Team Leader expressly indicating to the AGM (in writing or orally at the meeting) that they are willing to perform such a function.

In addition to the ex-officio members, there are three other groups of people who may be members of the Group Trustee Board:

  • elected members – these are elected by the Group Council at the Annual General Meeting and there are normally four to six of them;
  • nominated members – these are nominated by the Group Scout Leader in consultation with the Group Chairman at the Annual General Meeting and there must be no more than the number of elected members
  • co-opted members – these are co-opted by the Group Trustee Board and there must be no more than the number of elected members

The membership is set up this way to ensure that the interests of the Group Council and the Group Lead Volunteer are represented, and balanced. The co-opted members are often used to bring particular skills into the Trustee Board, perhaps because of a particular project that is being undertaken or task that is being tackled.

Ideally there should be a parent from each Section in the Group on the Trustee Board.

All members (ex-officio, elected and co-opted) are Charity Trustees of the Group which is registered as a non-profit making charity with the Charity Commission for England and Wales.  The current Trustees are:

RoleMember typeName
ChairNominatedHelen Spicer-Cain
Deputy ChairElectedVacant
TreasurerElectedRachel Martin
SecretaryElectedJulie Gandolfi
Scout Parent representativeElectedVacant
Cub Parent representativeElectedVacant
Beaver Parent representativeElectedN/A
Group Lead VolunteerEx-officioJenny Ryder
Scout LeaderEx-officioSimon Clawson
Cub Scout LeaderEx-officioVacant
Beaver Scout LeaderEx-officioN/A

Anyone interested in getting involved in the Executive or supporting the group can register there interest by clicking here.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.